Oscar Nominations 2015 Reactions: Stars Give Thanks for Academy Awards Nods

Mark Ruffalo and Julianne Moore
Mark Ruffalo and Julianne Moore were both nominated. Theo Wargo/WireImage.com

Going for gold! The nominations for the 2015 Academy Awards were announced on Thursday, Jan. 15, and some of Hollywood's biggest stars are up for honors. 

Chris Pine, director J.J. Abrams, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences president Cheryl Boone Isaacs, and director Alfonso Cuaron announced the Oscar nominees in Beverly Hills, naming American Sniper, Birdman, Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game, Selma, The Theory of Everything, and Whiplash as the contenders for Best Picture. 

Famous faces such as Emma Stone, Bradley Cooper, Meryl Streep, and Ethan Hawke also received nominations. Ahead of the Neil Patrick Harris-hosted 87th Academy Awards on Feb. 22, those honored took to social media and released statements to give their thanks. 

While he wasn't personally nominated, Miles Teller ‏tweeted his excitement for the movie Whiplash, in which he starred alongside Oscar nominee J.K. Simmons. "5 Oscar nominations for Whiplash?!!" he wrote. "Booya!"

Best Original Song nominees Common and John Legend both took to Twitter to express their gratitude for the nomination. 

Competing against the pair in the Best Original Song category, Tegan and Sara also tweeted about their honor for their work with The Lego Movie.

Host Harris released a video of himself reacting to the nominees, complete with a cameo appearance by his daughter Harper, 4. 

Check out more reactions below!

Eddie Redmayne: "I'm so incredibly honored to be recognized by the Academy, and even more thrilled to share this honor with the entire family of filmmakers, cast, and crew of The Theory of Everything. This role was a once in a lifetime experience. Congratulations to my fellow nominees, thank you to the Academy, and thank you most of all to Stephen and Jane Hawking."

Felicity Jones: "I'm overwhelmed at this incredible news. This is a huge, huge honor. My deepest gratitude to the members of the Academy. I'll look forward to celebrating this with everyone involved in The Theory of Everything. Thank you so much."

Bradley Cooper: "This is a tribute to Chris Kyle, his family and all of the service men and women who sacrifice their lives for their countries and their families. It is a privilege and an honor to play Chris and I share this with Sienna, Clint, Jason Hall, the rest of SEAL team three and everyone involved with the film."

Michael Keaton: "Humbled, thankful and more than anything, grateful. So, so happy that Alejandro and the cast and crew are getting recognized. I am proud to be a part of such a bold, gutsy and daring experiment that is Birdman. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I am going to try as best I can and see if I can wipe this smile off my face. Wish me luck."

Feast director Patrick Osborne: "In a year with so many beautiful animated shorts, we are surprised, humbled, thrilled to be included among the nominees by the Academy. Making Feast alongside my favorite artists and best friends at Disney Animation was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. It is their hard work and talent that made the film what it is and I am so excited to share this nomination with them."

Big Hero 6 director Don Hall: "As kids growing up in Canada and Iowa, Chris and I both dreamt of becoming Disney animators. Never could we have imagined that, one day, we would get to make a film like Big Hero 6, and that one day, the film and all of the talented artists who made it would be recognized by the Academy. Roy, Chris and I are deeply honored by the nomination and thank everyone at Disney Animation who made this possible."

The Theory of Everything producer Lisa Bruce: "I am thrilled that the Academy members have embraced The Theory of Everything, as it is truly one of the most inspirational stories I have ever known. I hope our movie inspires people around the world to do as Jane and Stephen Hawking did: to reach beyond their realities and discover the unimaginable."

The Boxtrolls directors Anthony Stacchi and Graham Annable: "One word – HONORED! We are honored and humbled to accept this nomination in recognition of our amazingly talented cast and crew – the artists, actors, craftspeople, and freaks who brought The Boxtrolls to life. We are eternally grateful to them and to our fearless leaders, producers Travis Knight and David Bleiman Ichioka, for making it all possible. Thank you so much, Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, for including us in this great list of nominees! We would be thrilled to sit in the dark and clap for any one of them."

For access to all our exclusive celebrity videos and interviews – Subscribe on YouTube!