Already have an account?
Get back to the

Janet Jackson’s New Album Unbreakable Gets Release Date, Will Include “Reflections” About Brother Michael

Janet Jackson's new album Unbreakable
Janet Jackson's new album, Unbreakable, is her first since her late brother Michael Jackson's death in 2009.

Welcome back, Janet. Music icon Janet Jackson has set a release date for her new album, Unbreakable — her first studio record since her late brother Michael Jackson’s death in 2009 — and the songs look to be as reflective as they are rhythmic.

According to Jackson’s official site, Unbreakable will drop on Friday, Oct. 2, with preorders on iTunes kicking off on Thursday, Sept. 3.

Related: PHOTOS: Michael Jackson's most unforgettable moments

“The album also will mark the first time Janet Jackson has opened up about her brother Michael and with reflections concerning her youth,” a statement on the site reads. “Inherent in this music will be her feelings that we must learn to celebrate life and the things each of us experiences and endures and how that process can make each person stronger.”

janet and michael

The album will feature Jackson’s first single, “No Sleeep,” which guests R&B singer J. Cole, as well as “Burnitup!” in collaboration with Missy Elliott.

“No Sleeep” was produced by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, the creative team who also helped bring Jackson’s hit album Control to life back in 1986. 

Related: PHOTOS: Famous celebrity families

“It’s wonderful to be creating again with Janet,” they said in a statement. “From songwriting, producing, arranging, singing, dancing, acting, she deftly does it all and truly personifies the word artist. Unbreakable is a gift to all of her fans who have steadfastly stood by her.”

Related: PHOTOS: Michael Jackson's face -- how it changed

Check out the full tracklist below:

1. “Unbreakable”
2. “Burnitup!” (feat. Missy Elliott)
3. “Dammn Baby”
4. “The Great Forever”
5. “Shoulda Known Better”
6. “After You Fall”
7. “Broken Hearts Heal”
8. “Night”
9. “No Sleeep” (feat. J. Cole)
10. “Dream Maker/ Euphoria”
11. “2 B Loved”
12. “Take Me Away”
13. “Promise”
14. “Lessons Learned”
15. “Black Eagle”
16. “Well Traveled”
17. “Gon B Alright”

In this article

Got a Tip form close button
Got a tip for US?
We're All Ears for Celebrity Buzz!