Already have an account?
Get back to the

12 Years a Slave Wins the 2014 Best Picture Oscar!

12 Years a Slave
12 Years a Slave and Gravity were the two frontrunners for Best Picture at the 86th annual Academy Awards.

And the winner is… 12 Years a Slave! After a talent-packed awards season, the film industry's finest came out to celebrate at the 86 annual Academy Awards. 12 Years a Slave took home the night's biggest prize — Best Picture — in addition to two other Oscars. 

Related: PHOTOS: Red carpet arrivals at the 2014 Oscars

Beating out fellow critically acclaimed nominees Gravity, American Hustle, Nebraska, Captain Phillips, Philomena, Dallas Buyers Club, The Wolf of Wall Street, and Her, 12 Years a Slave tells the story of free man Solomon Northup who was enslaved for 12 years. 

The film also won Oscars for Best Supporting Actress Lupita Nyong'o and Best Adapted Screenplay. Gravity was by far the biggest winner of the night with seven Oscars. 

Related: PHOTOS: Stars' evolving red carpet looks

Tell Us: Do you think 12 Years a Slave deserved to win Best Picture?

In this article

Got a Tip form close button
Got a tip for US?
We're All Ears for Celebrity Buzz!