Already have an account?
Get back to the

Oscar-Nominated Films That Received No Awards at the 86 Annual Academy Awards

The cast of "American Hustle"
Though it was nominated in 10 categories, American Hustle didn't win a single Oscar at Sunday's show.

Hopefully some Oscars nominees took the “It’s an honor just to be nominated” adage to heart, because in 2014 that’s all they were — nominated. The 86th annual Academy Awards were filled with memorable moments, historic wins, and tearful acceptance speeches. 

Related: PHOTOS: Red carpet arrivals at the 2014 Oscars

But in a year overflowing with immense talent and plenty of critical acclaim, several films didn’t pick up a single win despite an impressive amount of nominations. 

American Hustle was the most noteworthy shut out, not receiving any golden statues in its 10 potential categories. Despite having an actor nominated for each acting category, David O. Russell’s funky flick lost out at every turn — with the closest race being between 12 Years a Slave‘s Lupita Nyong’o and Hustle‘s Jennifer Lawrence for Best Supporting Actress. Hustle is one of four other films in Oscar history to lose all 10 or more of its nominations. 

The technical categories mostly went to Alfonso Cuaron’s space epic Gravity, while Baz Luhrmann’s Great Gatsby adaptation won for Costume and Production Design, which could have been Hustle‘s moment to shine.

jonah hill and leonardo dicaprio
Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill (who were both nominated for their roles) starred in Martin Scorsese’s The Wolf of Wall Street. The film didn’t win in any of its five categories.

Hustle wasn’t the only flick to lose out. Martin Scorsese’s The Wolf of Wall Street failed to win in any of its five categories, with star Leonardo DiCaprio losing out to Matthew McConaughey in his fifth acting nomination. 

Related: PHOTOS: Sexy men in tuxes at the Oscars

Not only did Woody Grant (Bruce Dern) not win a million dollars in director Alexander Payne’s Nebraska, but the film didn’t win a single of its six nominations either. And Captain Phillips may have survived Somali pirates, but after the film’s lead Tom Hanks wasn’t nominated for an Oscar, it also failed be crowned victorious in any of its five categories.

Related: PHOTOS: Biggest Oscar snubs ever

Gravity was the big winner of the night with seven, mostly technical wins, and 12 Years a Slave took home the Best Picture Oscar in addition to Nyong’o’s Supporting Actress win and Best Adapted Screenplay.

Tell Us: Do you agree with last night’s Oscar results?

In this article

Got a Tip form close button
Got a tip for US?
We're All Ears for Celebrity Buzz!