Already have an account?
Get back to the

Star Wars: Episode VII Title Revealed! New Sequel Will Be Called The Force Awakens

Somewhere in a galaxy far, far away, Ewoks are stirring and lightsabers are being brandished in anticipation of the upcoming Star Wars movie. Details about the much buzzed-about sequel have been few and far between, but on Thursday, Nov. 6, Disney at last unveiled the title for Episode VII — Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Related: PHOTOS: Best and worst movie remakes

The studio tweeted a photo of the title just after noon on Thursday, along with this caption: "Star Wars: The Force Awakens has completed principal photography. #TheForceAwakens #StarWarsVII"

Star Wars: The Force Awakens is due to hit theaters in December 2015. It's the first of three planned installments, and will be set 30 years after Episode VI: Return of the Jedi, released in 1983.

Related: PHOTOS: Princess Leia and other famous film royalty

Earlier this year, director J.J. Abrams revealed the official cast list for the movie, which will reunite original Star Wars stars Harrison Ford (Han Solo), Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia), Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker), Anthony Daniels (C-3PO), Peter Mayhew (Chewbacca), and Kenny Baker (R2-D2). They'll be joined by franchise newcomers Adam Driver (Girls), Gwendoline Christie (Game of Thrones), and Oscar winner Lupita Nyong'o, among others.

Related: PHOTOS: Stars' most iconic costumes, revisited

"It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again," Abrams said before filming began. "Everyone is doing their best to make fans proud."

In this article

Got a Tip form close button
Got a tip for US?
We're All Ears for Celebrity Buzz!