Already have an account?
Get back to the

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2018: Complete Winners List

John Mulaney, Nick Kroll, Film Independent Spirit Awards
John Mulaney and Nick Kroll speak onstage during the 2017 Film Independent Spirit Awards in Santa Monica, California on February 25, 2017. Randall Michelson/Getty Images for Film Independent

The 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards were held in Santa Monica, California, on Saturday, March 3, and Us Weekly has the complete winners list!

The awards show, sponsored by Lindt Chocolate and hosted by Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, is dedicated to honoring independent filmmakers and is produced by Film Independent, a non-profit arts organization whose mission is to champion creative independence in visual storytelling and support a community of artists who embody diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision. The event, held one day ahead of the 2018 Oscars, was broadcast live on IFC.

Winners included Allison Janney for her performance in I, Tonya, and Timothee Chalamet for Call Me by Your Name.

15 TV Actors Who Won Oscar Gold!

Read article

Check out the full winners and nominees list below:

Best Feature:

Call Me By Your Name

The Florida Project

***WINNER: Get Out

Lady Bird

The Rider


Best First Feature:


***WINNER: Ingrid Goes West 


Oh Lucy!

Patti Cake$

2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards: What the Stars Wore

Read article

Best Director:

Sean Baker, The Florida Project

Jonas Carpignano, A Ciambra

Luca Guadagnino, Call Me by Your Name

***WINNER: Jordan Peele, Get Out

Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie, Good Time

Chloé Zhao, The Rider


Best Screenplay:

***WINNER: Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird

Azazel Jacobs, The Lovers

Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

Jordan Peele, Get Out

Mike White, Beatriz at Dinner

Saoirse Ronan Lady Bird
Saoirse Ronan in ‘Lady Bird.’


Best First Screenplay:

Kris Avedisian, Kyle Espeleta (story by), Jesse Wakeman (story by), Donald Cried

***WINNER: Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick

Ingrid Jungermann, Women Who Kill

Kogonada, Columbus

David Smith and Matt Spicer, Ingrid Goes West


John Cassavetes Award:


Writer/Director/Producer: Amman Abbasi

Writer: Steven Reneau

Producers: Lachion Buckingham, Alexander Uhlmann

A Ghost Story

Writer: David Lowery

Producers: Adam Donaghey, Toby Halbrooks, James M. Johnston

***WINNER: Life and Nothing More

Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza

Producer: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández, Pedro Hernández Santos

Most Beautiful Island

Writer/Director/Producer: Ana Asensio

Producers: Larry Fessenden, Noah Greenberg, Chadd Harbold, Jenn Wexler

The Transfiguration

Writer/Director: Michael O’Shea

Producer: Susan Leber


Best Male Lead:

Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats

***WINNER: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out

Robert Pattinson, Good Time

James Franco, The Disaster Artist


Best Female Lead:

Salma Hayek Pinault, Beatriz at Dinner

***WINNER: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Margot Robbie, I, Tonya

Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Regina Williams, Life and Nothing More

Shinobu Terajima, Oh Lucy!


Best Supporting Male:

Nnamdi Asomugha, Crown Heights

Armie Hammer, Call Me by Your Name

Barry Keoghan, The Killing of a Sacred Deer

***WINNER: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Benny Safdie, Good Time


Best Supporting Female:

Holly Hunter, The Big Sick

***WINNER: Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird

Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime

Taliah Lennice Webster, Good Time

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2017 : Best Dressed Stars on the Red Carpet

Read article

 Best Cinematography:

Thimios Bakatakis, The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Elisha Christian, Columbus

Hélène Louvart, Beach Rats

***WINNER: Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name

Joshua James Richards, The Rider


Best Editing:

Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie, Good Time

Walter Fasano, Call Me by Your Name

Alex O’Flinn, The Rider

Gregory Plotkin, Get Out

***WINNER: Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya


Best International Film:

BPM (Beats Per Minute)

***WINNER: A Fantastic Woman

I Am Not A Witch

Lady Macbeth



Best Documentary:

The Departure

***WINNER: Faces Places

Last Men in Aleppo




Robert Altman Award:



Jeep Truer Than Fiction Award:

The Cage Fighter

Director: Jeff Unay

Distant Constellation:

Director: Shevaun Mizrahi

***WINNER: Quest

Director: Jonathan Olshefski


Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award:


Director: Amman Abbasi

***WINNER: Gook

Director: Justin Chon

Super Dark Times

Director: Kevin Phillips


Piaget Producers Award

Giulia Caruso & Ki Jin Kim

Ben LeClair

***WINNER: Summer Shelton


American Airlines Bonnie Award:               

So Yong Kim

Lynn Shelton

***WINNER: Chloe Zhao

Funniest Awards Show Audience Reactions

Read article

For access to all our exclusive celebrity videos and interviews – Subscribe on YouTube!