Already have an account?
Get back to the
TV Shows
The Office

The Office

Network: NBC

The Office premiered on NBC in March 2005 and ran for nine seasons until May 2013. Based on the BBC series of the same name, the U.S. version of the show was adapted by Greg Daniels, who has also written for Saturday Night Live, King of the Hill and The Simpsons. Filmed in a documentary format, The Office follows the everyday work lives of the eccentric employees who work at a branch of the fictional Dunder Mifflin Paper Company in Scranton, Pennsylvania.

The Office originally featured Steve Carell (Michael Scott), Rainn Wilson (Dwight Schrute), John Krasinski (Jim Halpert), Jenna Fischer (Pam Beesly), Mindy Kaling (Kelly Kapoor) and B. J. Novak (Ryan Howard). Ed Helms, Leslie David Baker, Rashida Jones, Amy Ryan, Craig Robinson, James Spader, Ellie Kemper and Catherine Tate also appeared through the years.

Before its series finale, The Office picked up a Peabody Award and an Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series in 2006. Carell was nominated six times for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series at the Emmys, but he never won. He did, however, earn a Golden Globe Award in 2006. Carell’s departure from the series in season 7 led to a decline in ratings, but the last episode of The Office amassed an estimated 5.7 million viewers.

You might also be interested in:

Got a Tip form close button
Got a tip for US?
We're All Ears for Celebrity Buzz!