Sister Wives' Kody Brown Reveals He Almost Quit the Show: "I Had Had Enough"

Sister Wives' Kody Brown Reveals He Almost Quit the Show: "I Had Had Enough"

Browns on the brink! Sister Wives star Kody Brown has lived his life on TV since 2010, but as he reveals in this exclusive clip from the new tell-all special airing Sunday, March 1, he very nearly reached his breaking point with the TLC show earlier this season.

Brown -- who has four wives and 17 children -- says he thought about quitting after an on-air argument with his third wife, Christine, and a storm of negative reactions to some comments he'd made about her "PMS-ing."

"I literally started talking to the family the week after that aired," he says on Sister Wives Tell All. "I started talking about, how can we get out of this show? I was dead serious. I had had enough."

Given his polygamist lifestyle, Brown is no stranger to criticism -- many people simply don't understand his family dynamic. But the vitriol got worse in January, after he said PMS made his wives "insane" and then told Christine she wasn't "being responsible with how [she was] behaving."

Reflecting on the incident on the tell-all special, Brown admits he may not have been responsible with his behavior, either.

"I'm sorry that I didn't understand it well enough. And I'm sorry that it becomes a very offensive and polarizing thing," he says in the above clip. "I actually apologized to Christine about this whole experience, but the PMS subject -- in spite of being married for so many years -- was a new problem to me. And so, when it became a real thing to me, it was a place where I was very insensitive about it."

The Sister Wives season five finale airs Sunday, March 1, at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT, followed immediately by Sister Wives Tell All at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT.