Dr. Dre Releasing First Album in More than 15 Years for “Grand Finale”

Dr. Dre
Dr. Dre will release his first new album in more than 15 years Chelsea Lauren/Getty Images

Going out with a bang. Dr. Dre will release his first new album in more than 15 years this week as what he calls his “grand finale.”

The “Nuthin’ but a ‘G’ Thang” rapper, 50, will debut Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre on Friday, Aug. 7, nearly 16 years after the release of his sophomore album, November 1999’s 2001. While Dre has been famously active in the music industry in the decades since his last album, he has yet to release a full project of his own studio recordings.

PHOTOS: '90s Celebrity Fashion Flashback!

Read article

The Beats By Dre creator, who sold his company to Apple for $3 billion, announced his plans for Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre this past weekend during The Pharmacy, his radio show on Apple Music’s Beats 1 radio. He explained that he was inspired to begin work on the album with the upcoming premiere of Straight Outta Compton, the biopic that tells the tale of rap group N.W.A.’s rise to fame.

“I felt myself being so inspired by the movie that I started to record an album,” Dr. Dre said. “It’s going to be my grand finale. The record is bananas.”

dr. dre in 2000
Dr. Dre accepts the Legend Award at the Radio Music Awards on November 4, 2000, soon after he released his last album. Frank Micelotta/ABC/ImageDirect via Getty Images

PHOTOS: Music's Hottest Breakout Artists

Read article

Dre, who is played in the movie by Corey Hawkins, also served as a producer for the big-screen adaptation of the California performers’ recording career.

From the looks of the tracklist for Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre, it is likely to be, in fact, “bananas.” The music mogul enlisted friends and collaborators such as Snoop Dogg, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, and Eminem for the singles. Check out the full list below before the 16-track album debuts on Apple Music.

PHOTOS: Music's Most Dramatic Makeovers

Read article

Compton: A Soundtrack By Dre
1. “Intro”
2. “Talk About It” feat. King Mez & Justus
3. “Genocide” feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay
4. “It’s All on Me” feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid
5. “All in a Day’s Work” feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius
6. “Darkside/Gone” feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar
7. “Loose Cannons” feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um
8. “Issues” feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak
9. “Deep Water” feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus
10. “One Shot One Kill” feat. Snoop Dogg
11. “Just Another Day” feat. Asia Bryant
12. “For the Love of Money” feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor
13. “Satisfaction” feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez
14. “Animals” feat. Anderson Paak
15. “Medicine Man” feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak
16. “Talking to My Diary”

For access to all our exclusive celebrity videos and interviews – Subscribe on YouTube!