Iggy Azalea Postpones The Great Escape Tour, Pushes It Months Back

Iggy Azalea
Iggy Azalea postponed her tour. Chelsea Lauren/WireImage

Iggy Azalea will be planning her escape for quite a bit longer. The "Fancy" rapper, 24, was forced to postpone her upcoming The Great Escape Tour.

According to a statement from Azalea's label Def Jam records, the show dates will be rescheduled "due to tour production delays." 

While there was initial talk that the tour was cancelled completely, in the statement on Tuesday, March 10, Azalea's team clarified that the tour was simply pushed back, rather than pulled. 

"To accommodate for creative team availability and tour production plans, it was determined that the tour will not be ready this spring," the official words read. "It is extremely important to Iggy that she delivers the show she envisaged to share with her fans and that requires more time in development."

"Iggz HQ: The tour getting pushed back only means that it'll be way more amazing than it would've been in April," her team added on Twitter. "Good things take time."

With Azalea's change of plans, the Australian performer is also losing her opening acts. She originally booked Nick Jonas and Tinashe to kick off her concerts, but the two artists will be replaced for the rescheduled dates. 

The tour was scheduled to begin in just weeks, with the first show set for April 14 in Fresno, Calif. The debut installment is now pushed back five months, with the first concert rescheduled for Sept. 18 in San Diego. 

When the Great Escape Tour finally hits the road, it will be Azalea's second big national tour as the headlining artist. From April to September 2014, Nick Young's girlfriend hit major cities like Chicago, Los Angeles, New York City, and Boston in support of her chart-topping debut studio album The New Classic.

Check out Azalea's updated The Great Escape Tour schedule below.
Friday, September 18 – San Diego, Calif.
Sunday, September 20 – Fresno, Calif.
Thursday, September 24 – Oakland, Calif.
Friday, September 25 – Los Angeles, Calif.
Tuesday, September 29 – Denver, Colo.
Thursday, October 1 – Minneapolis, Minn.
Friday, October 2 – Rosemont, Ill.
Saturday, October 3 – Auburn Hills, Mich.
Monday, October 5 – Washington, D.C.
Tuesday, October 6 – Boston, Mass.
Thursday, October 8 – Toronto, Ontario
Saturday, October 10 – Philadelphia, Pa.
Sunday, October 11 – Brooklyn, N.Y.
Monday, October 12 – Newark, N.J.
Thursday, October 15 – Atlanta, Ga.
Saturday, October 17 – Miami, Fla.
Sunday, October 18 – Orlando, Fla.
Thursday, October 22 – Houston, Texas
Friday, October 23 – Austin, Texas
Sunday, October 25 – Dallas, Texas
Tuesday, October 27 – Glendale, Ariz.

Sign up now for the Us Weekly newsletter to get breaking celebrity news, hot pics and more delivered straight to your inbox!

Want stories like these delivered straight to your phone? Download the Us Weekly iPhone app now!