Already have an account?
Get back to the
TV Shows


Network: NBC

A pioneer in morning television, the Peabody Award-winning show Today premiered in 1952 on NBC and has been a mainstay of daytime programming ever since. The series inspired many other similar shows, including competitor Good Morning America. Combining news, celebrity interviews, recipes, lifestyle tips and more, Today keeps a wide variety of viewers engaged.

For 48 years, Today ran as a two-hour program from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m ET. The show was expanded in 2007 to the four-hour, 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. ET program fans know today. The first two hours of the show are coanchored by Savannah Guthrie and Hoda Kotb, and include appearances by weather anchor Al Roker, news anchor Craig Melvin and features anchor Carson Daly. For the third hour, Sheinelle Jones and Dylan Dreyer cohost alongside Roker and Melvin. The fourth hour of the show, titled Today with Hoda & Jenna, is cohosted by Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager.

Matt Lauer previously held the longest tenure on the show, cohosting for just under 21 years before he was fired following sexual misconduct allegations at the height of the #MeToo movement in 2017. Lauer was eventually replaced by Kotb. Other former longtime hosts include Katie Couric, Bryant Gumbel, Jane Pauley and Barbara Walters.

You might also be interested in: