Already have an account?
Get back to the

2023 MTV Video Music Awards Winners List

2023 MTV Video Music Awards Winners List
Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for MTV

Taylor Swift had more opportunities than any artist to earn trophies at the 2023 MTV Video Music Awards — but she wasn’t the only A-lister who won big.

Stars lined up at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey, on Tuesday, September 12, for the milestone 40th annual awards show. Swift, 33, led the nominations with 11 total, including the coveted Artist of the Year category. She was also up for Video of the Year for her smash hit “Anti-Hero,” breaking her own record with her win. (Swift previously earned three Video of the Year trophies through the years, the most by any artist.)

As fans watched to see who reigned supreme on Tuesday night, they were also treated to a star-studded lineup of performers including Olivia Rodrigo, Kelsea Ballerini and Nicki Minaj, who returned as the ceremony’s emcee for the second year in a row. Shakira and Diddy also took the stage to celebrate their Video Vanguard and Global Icon Awards, respectively.

Keep scrolling to see the full list of 2023 MTV VMAs nominees — and look for the bold names to see who won:

Video Vanguard Award

Global Icon Award

VMA 2023 Red Carpet Arrivals 391 Megan Thee Stallion Feature

Related: MTV VMAs 2023 Red Carpet Fashion: What the Stars Wore

Video of the Year
Doja Cat – “Attention”
Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”
Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
Sam Smith and Kim Petras – “Unholy”
SZA – “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Song of the Year
Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
Rema and Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”
Sam Smith and Kim Petras – “Unholy”
Steve Lacy – “Bad Habit”
SZA – “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Artist of the Year
Doja Cat
Karol G
Nicki Minaj
Taylor Swift

Best New Artist
Ice Spice
Peso Pluma
Reneé Rapp

Push Performance of the Year
Saucy Santana – “Booty”
Stephen Sanchez – “Until I Found You”
Jvke – “Golden Hour”
Flo Milli – “Conceited”
Reneé Rapp – “Colorado”
Sam Ryder – “All the Way Over”
Armani White – “Goated”
Fletcher – “Becky’s So Hot”
Tomorrow X Together – “Sugar Rush Ride”
Ice Spice – “Princess Diana”
Flo – “Losing You”
Lauren Spencer-Smith – “That Part”

VMA's Wildest Moments Blue Ivy Jay-Z Beyonce

Related: VMAs’ Wildest Moments Through the Years

Best Collaboration
David Guetta and Bebe Rexha – “I’m Good (Blue)”
Post Malone and Doja Cat – “I Like You (A Happier Song)”
Diddy (featuring Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, and Yung Miami) – “Gotta Move On”
Karol G and Shakira – “TQG”
Metro Boomin (featuring the Weeknd, 21 Savage, and Diddy) – “Creepin'” (remix)
Rema and Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”

Best Pop
Demi Lovato – “Swine”
Dua Lipa – “Dance the Night”
Ed Sheeran – “Eyes Closed”
Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
Pink – “Trustfall”
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Best Hip-Hop
Diddy (featuring Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, and Yung Miami) – “Gotta Move On”
DJ Khaled (featuring Drake and Lil Baby) – “Staying Alive”
GloRilla and Cardi B – “Tomorrow 2”
Lil Uzi Vert – “Just Wanna Rock”
Lil Wayne (featuring Swizz Beatz & DMX) – “Kant Nobody”
Metro Boomin (featuring Future) – “Superhero (Heroes & Villains)”
Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”

Best R&B
Alicia Keys (featuring Lucky Daye) – “Stay”
Chlöe (featuring Chris Brown) – “How Does It Feel”
Metro Boomin (featuring the Weeknd, 21 Savage, and Diddy) – “Creepin'” (remix)
SZA – “Shirt”
Toosii – “Favorite Song”
Yung Bleu and Nicki Minaj – “Love in the Way”

Best K-Pop
Aespa – “Girls”
Blackpink – “Pink Venom”
Fifty Fifty – “Cupid”
Seventeen – “Super”
Stray Kids – “S-Class”
Tomorrow X Together – “Sugar Rush Ride”

Best Latin
Anitta – “Funk Rave”
Bad Bunny – “Where She Goes”
Eslabon Armado and Peso Pluma – “Ella Baila Sola”
Grupo Frontera and Bad Bunny – “Un x100to”
Karol G and Shakira – “TQG”
Rosalía – “Despechá”
Shakira – “Acróstico”

Best Rock
Foo Fighters – “The Teacher”
Linkin Park – “Lost” (original)
Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Tippa My Tongue”
Måneskin – “The Loneliest”
Metallica – “Lux Æterna”
Muse – “You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween”

Best Alternative
Blink-182 – “Edging”
Boygenius – “The Film”
Fall Out Boy – “Hold Me Like a Grudge”
Lana Del Rey (featuring Jon Batiste) – “Candy Necklace”
Paramore – “This Is Why”
Thirty Seconds to Mars – “Stuck”

Best Afrobeats
Ayra Starr – “Rush”
Burna Boy – “It’s Plenty”
Davido (featuring Musa Keys) – “Unavailable”
Fireboy DML and Asake – “Bandana”
Libianca – “People”
Rema and Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”
Wizkid (featuring Ayra Starr) – “2 Sugar”

Video for Good
Alicia Keys – “If I Ain’t Got You” (orchestral)
Bad Bunny – “El Apagón – Aquí Vive Gente”
Demi Lovato – “Swine”
Dove Cameron – “Breakfast”
Imagine Dragons – “Crushed”
Maluma – “La Reina”

Pete Davidson and Ariana Grande MTV VMA Couples Who Made Red Carpet Debut

Related: Couples Making Red Carpet Debuts at the VMAs

Show of the Summer
Ed Sheeran
Karol G
Taylor Swift

Group of the Year
Fifty Fifty
Jonas Brothers
Tomorrow X Together

Album of the Year
Beyoncé – Renaissance
Drake and 21 Savage – Her Loss
Metro Boomin – Heroes & Villains
Miley Cyrus – Endless Summer Vacation
Taylor Swift – Midnights

Song of Summer
Beyoncé – “Cuff It”
Billie Eilish – “What Was I Made For?” (from the motion picture Barbie)
Doja Cat – “Paint the Town Red”
Doechii (featuring Kodak Black) – “What It Is (Block Boy)”
Dua Lipa – “Dance the Night” (from the motion picture Barbie)
Fifty Fifty – “Cupid”
Gunna – “Fukumean”
Jungkook (featuring Latto) – “Seven”
Nicki Minaj & Ice Spice with Aqua – “Barbie World” (from the motion picture Barbie)
Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
SZA – “Kill Bill”
Taylor Swift (featuring Ice Spice) – “Karma”
Tomorrow X Together and Jonas Brothers – “Do It Like That”
Luke Combs – “Fast Car”
Troye Sivan – “Rush”
Yng Lvcas & Peso Pluma – “La Bebe” (remix)

Best Direction
Doja Cat – “Attention” (Director: Tanu Muiño)
Drake – “Falling Back” (Director: Julien Christian Lutz)
Kendrick Lamar – “Count Me Out” (Director: Dave Free and Kendrick Lamar)
Megan Thee Stallion – “Her” (Director: Colin Tilley)
Sam Smith and Kim Petras – “Unholy” (Director: Floria Sigismondi)
SZA – “Kill Bill” (Director: Christian Breslauer)
Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” (Director: Taylor Swift)

In this article