Already have an account?
Get back to the
TV Shows
Dancing With The Stars

Dancing With The Stars

Network: ABC / Disney+

Dancing With the Stars (DWTS), which launched in 2005, is an Emmy-winning ballroom competition where celebrities are paired with professional dancers and face weekly eliminations based on expert judges’ scores and viewers’ votes.

Based on the British TV series Strictly Come Dancing, the show challenges Hollywood’s biggest stars to learn at least one brand new dance each week — taking on everything from the foxtrot to the salsa — with the help of experienced pros. Panelists Bruno Tonioli, Carrie Ann Inaba and Len Goodman were a constant presence at the judges’ table from season 1 until Goodman’s death in 2023. (In honor of the late judge and dance legend, the DWTS prize was renamed the Len Goodman Mirrorball Trophy ahead of season 32.)

Derek Hough joined the judges’ table during season 29 in 2020 after previously appearing as a pro. His sister Julianne Hough also served as a pro partner for several seasons and took on cohosting duties for season 32.

Tyra Banks hosted the show from season 29 — when she replaced longtime emcees Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews — to season 31. Alfonso Ribeiro joined as Banks’ cohost for season 31, later teaming up with Julianne when she returned to the ballroom.

DWTS has made champions out of professional athletes, actors, models and social media stars. Notable winners through the years include Kristi Yamaguchi, Nicole Scherzinger, Jennifer Grey, Kellie Pickler, Amber Riley, Jordan Fisher, Hannah Brown and Charli D’Amelio.

You might also be interested in:

Got a Tip form close button
Got a tip for US?
We're All Ears for Celebrity Buzz!