Already have an account?
Get back to the
TV Shows
So You Think You Can Dance

So You Think You Can Dance

Network: Fox

So You Think You Can Dance is a competition series that premiered on Fox in 2005. Dancers of all styles compete against one another in front of a judging panel. With the help of audience votes, the judges determine who advances and who is eliminated. Competitors test their ability to adapt to different styles each round, with the winner being crowned “America’s Favorite Dancer.”

Season 1 was hosted by Lauren Sanchez, but Cat Deeley took over for season 2 and has remained the host ever since. Cocreator Nigel Lythgoe was the longest-serving judge, exiting before season 17 in 2022 . Mary Murphy, Adam Shankman, Paula Abdul, Jason Derulo, Vanessa Hudgens and more have also been featured as judges.

So You Think You Can Dance has earned 13 Emmy Awards. Season 18 is set to premiere in March 2024 with Allison Holker and Maksim Chmerkovskiy as judges. (Lythgoe announced his official departure from the show in January 2024 amid multiple sexual assault accusations.)

You might also be interested in:

Got a Tip form close button
Got a tip for US?
We're All Ears for Celebrity Buzz!